tales2apoint

…stories and poetry to touch, teach, & turn the heart toward truth.

Worst Day

Leave a comment

I may be too pessimistic,

But I seem to always fear my worst day.

What will I do?

What will I lose?

My faith, my family, my life?

So it’s easy for me

To caution you:

Be ready for your worst day.

Be ready for everything to fall apart.

Be ready to watch it disappear.

All the good you ever held dear

Destructing before your eyes.

 

Now I realize I’ve got you down,

But you have to admit I’ve got a point.

We expect ease.

We expect fortune.

But why do we think we deserve it?

I’m warning you,

It’s coming soon,

Be ready for your worst day.

Be ready for everything to fall apart.

Be ready to watch it disappear.

All the good you ever held dear

Destructing before your eyes.

 

Maybe your worst day is today.

Maybe it’s tomorrow.

Maybe it was yesterday.

You’re seeping in your shame and sorrow.

But I have found

In all my days

That haven’t gone so well

There’s always been

Waiting for me

A bucket at the bottom of the well.

 

Be ready for your worst day.

Be ready for everything to fall apart.

Be ready to watch it disappear.

All the good you ever held dear

Destructing before your eyes.

 

But be prepared

I wouldn’t be surprised

If one day in the future

You look back and see

It was your best day.

Author: Clayton from tales2apoint

Stories and poetry to teach, touch, & turn hearts to truth. I love God, my wife, & others. I'm indebted to their love.

Please tell me what you think! I truly desire your feedback:

