tales2apoint

…stories and poetry to touch, teach, & turn the heart toward truth.

Moments of Unparalleled Sequence 5

Leave a comment

V.

Aln opened his eyes. Dark.  No more soccer field.  No more counter top fridge.

‘You did it.’

 Before the sleep even began to leave his eyes, tears drowned them. It hurt. Pain filled his eyes as reality stung his heart. He really was stupid.

‘I’m all in now. There’s nothing left to hide behind.’

 No more shallow. No more casual. No more feigned boldness. He’d finally crossed the line he kept redrawing. And it wasn’t even for love!  It was just another prison—just like he knew it would be. He was just weaker, even more pitiful.

Last night he told himself he was strong. Last night he said he was free. Last night he lied.

‘Now I’m just stupid. Selfish and stupid. A selfish, stupid prisoner.  Again.’

 By now his pillow was soaked. Except that it wasn’t his pillow; this wasn’t his bed. Why was he here?

The body to his left began to stir.

Experience. He had it now.

Aln’s eyes made contact with Branson’s.

Reailty. He never escaped it.

His own regret was mirrored in the eyes of this near stranger.

Love. He didn’t find it.

“I’m sorry; I’ve got to go.”

Experience wasn’t worth it.

‘God, forgive me. I need You.’

{This is part five of six…come back soon for part six! I will post the whole story as one post after all the parts have been posted.}

Author: Clayton from tales2apoint

Stories and poetry to teach, touch, & turn hearts to truth. I love God, my wife, & others. I'm indebted to their love.

Please tell me what you think! I truly desire your feedback:

